Halfway Point

It’s official, as of yesterday I am halfway through this experiment and have managed to not buy any yarn. I’m beginning to think of extending it a year, with a slight pause in May to buy some sweater quantities of yarn. I’m working on one now, but it’s from the last stockpile of yarn that I have enough of to make a sweater. I don’t have a particular itch yet, but I know that making it through to November without another sweater or large project would drive me mad.

As with last month, I managed to acquire yarn without buying it. I traded another Raveler for a skein of hemp yarn, something I wouldn’t buy, but wanted to try. I also won a prize for a series of mittens I did last year, receiving two skeins of lovely hand-dyed fingering-weight yarn from ShaylaMyst’s shop.

Alright, on to the FOs. There aren’t as many this month – I broke out my sock yarn stash and February’s HPKCHC projects are moving slowly.

This is the Simple Things shawl (Rav link), knit from sock yarn dyed by SeeJayneKnit in the Gibbs colorway. I am a HUGE NCIS fan and pounced when I found this after someone in the HPKCHC mentioned it. The yarn was purchased to have, not for this specific project, but I think it shows it off well. My only criteria were ‘not socks, and no lace’. The leftovers from this skein will be headed for my collection of sock yarn scraps (hopefully eventually these will become one of the now ubiquitous sock yarn blankies).

Next up is a fairly large project. It seems like every knitter on the internet has themselves one of these – the February Lady Sweater (Rav link). It’s the adult version of the February Baby Sweater from Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Knitter’s Almanac. I made mine with short sleeves and Cascade 220 that I bought almost a year ago just for this sweater. Of course, at the time I thought I be doing long sleeves, so I bought way too much yarn. I’m thinking a matching pair of worsted boot socks.

I mentioned last month how much I like Ysolda Teague‘s hats – well, here’s another one, Gretel. It’s knit from a skein of Cascade Eco Duo I received from another Raveler in a swap. It’s mostly alpaca, and so warm that I might send it up to a friend in the Great Snowy North.

Finally, another project I mentioned last month, the Ariadne mitts (Rav link), knit from Knit Picks Andean Treasure bought specifically for the project. The pattern was fairly easy if you have a good grasp of cabling.

The project just barely required part of a second skein, so I have almost an entire extra skein to deal with. Hmm…

Leave a Reply

