I’m baaaaaack(-ish)

November 17, 2010

I needed a place to post my Yarn Diet 2010-2011 plan, since I keep my other online spaces fairly fiber-free and I’d lose it on Ravelry.

I was inspired by Emilee’s resolutions here and the fact that all five cats can now comfortably nest in my stash. It’s big enough that I can’t even tell you how much I have, just that it’s starting to make me nervous that five cats can nest in it.

Now, my biggest concern was setting a time frame for this – a year seems to be a pretty common goal, but I break into a cold sweat at the thought of it. So for now the main goal is May 16, 2011, six months from the last day I bought yarn (yesterday). However, if I get through the holiday season (defined as from now to January 6, 2011) without a fiber-y falldown, I’ll treat myself to a single skein of something good.

A few exceptions, of course:

1. Yarn for commissions. This is kind of a gimme – I make the money back when the commission is complete.

2. Yarn to complete my Couverture blanket squares. I was originally aiming for 80 squares, which gives me a 56″x70″ blankie – not bad. But now I have visions of a queen-size dancing in my head.

3. Yarn for future OWLs for the HPKCHC on Ravelry. I’m thinking that this isn’t such a big thing, but might get more important in April.

4. Two free passes – but neither can be used before January 6th.