Just to Watch it Dye

The Macalester College knitting and crochet club got together to dye yarn with Koolaid this past weekend, with almost entirely good results.

It was a fun project – two packets of lemonade flavor and two of lemon-lime, plus about 10-15 minutes in the microwave turned this bowl of yarn soup into this lovely skein:

I purposefully put a twist in the skein to get a few white spots. I have no idea what I’m going to do with it. I thought of making a hat for myself, but I definitely don’t have a scarf or mittens to match.

Quite a few interesting results, with few mishaps (some skeins got tangled), but a few odd side-effects.

Moldy hands, for one.

In other news, I did manage to churn out another FO for February.

A cat sweater, from the the pattern Cats Love Sweaters, by Christine Landry, available for free. I knit it from Plymouth Encore Colorspun, my one falling down so far on the No New Yarn Rule this year.

I usually put it on Boomer in the evenings to keep her from sitting in front of the heating vents. During the day however, I just leave the front door open while I’m here so she can lounge on our porch. Must be 70 degrees in the sun out there.

3 Responses to Just to Watch it Dye

  1. Dad says:

    I can just hear it now; “Boomer, no fair blocking the heating vents!”

  2. Sus says:

    Nice Kool-aid yarn! I knew some of those colors and flavors must be good for something. It sure isn’t drinking. Will the color hold when it’s washed? If you had known about the side effects, would you have chosen another color? Boomer looks amazingly happy in his vest. It’s hard to imagine Beautiful leaving it on for more than ten seconds, by which time it would have been a very sorry mass of shreds, and she would have been postal. Boomer obviously has way more common sense. Do the rest of you compete with Boomer for the sunny spot? I’m sure I would.

  3. Mom says:

    Hi Boomer! You are so cute!
    Maureen- lovely yarn and sweater!

Leave a Reply

